Irving residents re-elected incumbent Mayor Beth Van Duyne and District 3 Councilman Dennis Webb during the election held on May 10. Residents voted in newly elected Oscar Ward to represent District 5.

Irving operates under a council-manager form of government where council sets city policy and the city manager is responsible for organizational operations. Residents elect a mayor and eight council members to serve the city. All council members are elected for three-year terms. Elected officials are under a mixed system of single-member districts and at-large seats.

Following is a complete list of the City Council:


  • Mayor − Beth Van Duyne (at-large)
  • Place 1 − John C. Danish
  • Place 2 − Allan E. Meagher (at-large)
  • Place 3 − Dennis Webb
  • Place 4 − Joe Putnam
  • Place 5 − Oscar Ward
  • Place 6 − Brad M. LaMorgese
  • Place 7 − Gerald Farris
  • Place 8 − Thomas D. Spink (at-large)


Council meetings are held at least once a month on Thursdays, beginning at 7 p.m. Meeting dates are posted on the city’s website at

For more information, call the City Secretary’s Office at (972) 721-2493.

All of the City Council meetings can be viewed live on Irving Community Television Network’s cable Channel 95 – Time Warner and Channel 31 – Verizon, Channel 99 – AT&T, and at

Print Friendly