Superintendent of Schools Jose L. Parra announced Irving ISD’s 2014-15 Elementary and Secondary Teachers of the Year. Thomas Haley Elementary fifth grade bilingual teacher Christine Scovill was named the Elementary Teacher of the Year. Jack E. Singley Academy chemistry teacher Aaly Meherali was named the Secondary Teacher of the Year.

Each Irving ISD school selects a teacher of the year. Finalists are then selected from that group and participate in an interview process. The following teachers were selected as finalists: Joseph Owens, Barbara Cardwell Career Preparatory Center; Yvonne Beacham, Sam Houston Middle School; Patricia Martin, John R. Good Elementary School; and Nancy Friemel, M.C. Lively Elementary School.

Scovill and Meherali will now compete in the regional Teacher of the Year program. If selected, they will then move on to the state Teacher of the Year competition.

Print Friendly