The Leadership Irving-Las Colinas Class of 2012 participants focused on business and economic development when they met January 6.


The class was hosted by the new Irving Convention Center  where the class received an update and tour from ICVB Executive Director, Maura Gast as well as an update on local economic development wins from Economic Development Directors Leanne Weymouth and Don Williams. 


Leadership participants then visited the Microsoft campus for a tour of their facilities, including their Microsoft Technology Center (MTC), a presentation from Group Manager of Global Developer Support, Karla Stoker, and lunch.  The next stop was Schnee-Morehead, Inc, where Plant Manager, John Boyce, led the class on an exciting tour of their manufacturing facilities.


The class then travelled to the Chamber of Commerce Information Center, where they received an update on the redevelopment of Irving Boulevard and the Heritage Crossing area from Program Director Kevin Kass.  The day concluded on a sweet note at Big State Drug Store, where the class enjoyed ice cream.


The class, which represents numerous local private, public, and non-profit organizations, will meet the first Friday each month through April and will focus on a different area of Irving-Las Colinas at each meeting.  In February, the class will focus on Government.


The mission of Leadership Irving-Las Colinas is to identify, educate, and develop future leaders and to motivate these leaders for civic, charitable, and community involvement.  If you are interested or want to recommend a local business or community leader for the Class of 2013, please email Joy Goodrum at

LILC - JAN.jpgClass member Cathleen Whitlow of TXU gets a hands on experience as she packs and seals an outgoing product at Schnee-Morehead plant during the Leadership Irving-Las Colinas tour. 

Leadership Irving-Las Colinas Class of 2012 

Aaron Hering, Allstate; Adrian Ramirez, University of Dallas; Amy Spizzirri, Beckman Coulter Inc.; Bradley Perrier, City of Irving; Brittney Rogers, Irving Schools Foundation; Cara Mahan, HMS; Christopher Choate, Allstate; Dena Mercer, DART; Fred Points, BB&T; Ingra Conley, Microsoft Corporation; Irma Vega-Zadeh, Irving ISD; Joleen Bond-Livingston, HMS; Julia Miller, Irving ISD; Katiuska Herrador, Irving ISD; Kelly Horn, Irving ISD; Kyung Lee, HMS; LaTanya Cook, FritoLay; Lee Studt, Allstate; Linda Torres-Rangel, Irving ISD; Lourdes Spinola, Azteca-Omega Group & Irving Hispanic Chamber of Commerce; Maria Elena Coronado, Irving ISD; Mariposa Richarte, Retired; Melanie Magee, C-FB ISD; Nancy Walker, ACE Cash Express; Angela Perdue, Creating & Managing Wealth LLC; Nicholas Robison, City of Irving; Nicole Cabrere, Strayer University; Cathleen Whitelow, TXU Energy; Robert Funk, Aegis; Teri Petty, South MacArthur Church of Christ



Print Friendly