The twenty-two
Leadership Irving-Las Colinas Class of 2012 participants focused on Public
Safety and Emergency Preparedness on November 4th.


The class began the day
with a visit to the Irving Criminal Justice Center, where they toured the jail,
visited the 911 call center, and spent time with Asst. Police Chief Terry
Zettle. The class had the opportunity to learn about the police academy and sign
up for a police ride-a-long.


The second half of the
day was spent at the Esters Training Facility, where the class received a
tactical team presentation from Lt. Michael Coleman and toured the
“Homeland Security Mobil Command Vehicle” with Leadership Irving-Las
Colinas alumnus Jason Carriere.


The class then enjoyed a
lunch donated by
while they listened to
a Fire Department presentation by Asst. Fire Chief Victor Conley. Several
members of the Irving Fire Department, including Captain Glover McMillan, spent
the afternoon with the class as they put on fire department uniforms, rode on
fire trucks and ambulances, sprayed the fire hose, took apart a car using the
“jaws of life”, and travelled sky-high in the fire department


The class, which
represents numerous local private, public, and non-profit organizations, will
meet the first Friday each month through April and will focus on a different
area of Irving-Las Colinas at each meeting. In December, the class will focus
on Leadership Development.


The mission of
Leadership Irving-Las Colinas is to identify, educate, and develop future
leaders and to motivate these leaders for civic, charitable, and community
involvement. If you are interested or want to recommend a local business or
community leader for the Class of 2013, please email Joy Goodrum at


Irving-Las Colinas Class of 2012


Aaron Hering, Allstate;
Adrian Ramirez, University of Dallas; Amy Spizzirri, Beckman Coulter Inc.;
Bradley Perrier, City of Irving; Brittney Rogers, Irving Schools Foundation;
Cara Mahan, HMS; Christopher Choate, Allstate; Dena Mercer, DART; Fred Points,
BB&T; Ingra Conley, Microsoft Corporation; Irma Vega-Zadeh, Irving ISD;
Joleen Bond-Livingston, HMS; Julia Miller, Irving ISD; Katiuska Herrador,
Irving ISD; Kelly Horn, Irving ISD; Kyung Lee, HMS; LaTanya Cook, FritoLay; Lee
Studt, Allstate; Linda Torres-Rangel, Irving ISD; Lourdes Spinola, Azteca-Omega
Group & Irving Hispanic Chamber of Commerce; Maria Elena Coronado, Irving
ISD; Mariposa Richarte, Retired; Melanie Magee, C-FB ISD; Nancy Walker, ACE
Cash Express; Angela Perdue, Creating & Managing Wealth LLC; Nicholas
Robison, City of Irving; Nicole Cabrere, Strayer University; Cathleen Whitelow,
TXU Energy; Robert Funk, Aegis; Teri Petty, South MacArthur Church of Christ

Print Friendly