The thirty-one Leadership Irving-Las Colinas Class of 2011 participants focused on business and economic development when they met January 7.


The class was hosted by the Sheraton Grand DFW in the morning, where they received an update on the new Irving Convention Center from ICVB Executive Director, Maura Gast as well as an update on local economic development wins from Economic Development Directors Leanne Weymouth and Don Williams.  After the class was led on a tour through the Sheraton Grand DFW by Mike Kemp, they received a presentation from our program sponsor, John Morrison with IntegriGuard LLC, an HMS Holdings company.


Leadership participants then visited the Microsoft campus for a tour of their facilities, including their Microsoft Technology Center (MTC), a presentation from Site Director Rich Driscol, and lunch.  The next stop was Schnee-Morehead, Inc, where Jim Matthews led the class on an exciting tour of their manufacturing facilities.


The class then travelled to the Chamber of Commerce Information Center, where they received a warm welcome from Chamber President/CEO Chris Wallace and an update on the redevelopment of Irving Boulevard from Program Director Kevin Kass.  The day concluded on a sweet note at Big State Drug Store, where the class listened to a presentation from Owner Brian Smith while they enjoyed ice cream.


The class, which represents numerous local private, public, and non-profit organizations, will meet the first Friday each month through April and will focus on a different area of Irving-Las Colinas at each meeting.  In February, the class will focus on Education.


The mission of Leadership Irving-Las Colinas is to identify, educate, and develop future leaders and to motivate these leaders for civic, charitable, and community involvement.  If you are interested or want to recommend a local business or community leader for the Class of 2012, please email Alysia Bell at


Class of 2011


Adam Grinage, Irving ISD; Allison Sharpe, Brighter Tomorrows; Anita Gibbs, Anita Gibbs Apartment Locators; Asusena Resendiz, Irving Hispanic Chamber of Commerce; David Schmid, HMS; Doug Sevier, Irving ISD; Francesca Marraro, HMS; George Christian, Regions Bank; Grant Pruitt, Cushman & Wakefield; Gwen Craig, Irving ISD Board of Trustees; Harry Marek, ExxonMobil Corporation; Jeff Mues, Greater Irving-Las Colinas Chamber of Commerce; Jeff Strater, Research in Motion; Jill Tokumoto, Irving ISD; Joy Pike, Federal Strategies Group, LLC; Kendra Liddell, TXU Energy; Matt Warnock, CFBISD; Melissa Cannon, Irving Convention & Visitors Bureau; Nancy Navarro, Attorney at Law; Pownie Fierro, Allstate Insurance Company; Rakesh Patel, Law Office of Rakesh I. Patel, PLLC; Shane Burton, City of Irving; Sheraton Duffey, Universal Academy; Sherry Stephenson, Rick’s Independent Car Kare; Steve Candler, Flowserve Corporation; Steven Richards, North Lake College; Steven Wurtz, Irving ISD; Tawnia Wise, Irving Healthcare Foundation; Terry Jordan, Microsoft Corporation; Tina Mayse, HMS; Toscha Reeves, Irving ISD

Print Friendly